Beechwood Park History

After the battle of Hastings, William the Conqueror gave his faithful supporter Ralph de Tony, this coveted site as recorded in the Domesday book of 1086.

Beechwood Park Entrance

Beechwood Park Entrance

Sebright Cottage is situated in private parkland on the important historic site of Beechwood Park, Hertfordshire.

As King of England, William the Conqueror would have expected this new Lord of the Manor to protect St Albans Abbey and its pilgrims. Ralph de Tony’s grandson founded a Benedictine nunnery at Beechwood Park before 1150 to assist this purpose. Now underground, the remains of this ‘Nunnery of St Giles’ lie just a short walk from Sebright Farm Cottage identifiable in a hot summer.

Having squandered the wealth left to him by Henry VII and having fallen out with the Catholic Church, King Henry VIII sold the assets of Catholic institutions for his own financial gain. The Dissolution of the Monasteries resulted in the destruction of the Nunnery of St Giles at Beechwood Park.

The Manor House on the site was used frequently by Henry VIII and later by Edward VI due to the site’s reputation of clean healthy air, its’ immense natural beauty and given it is ideal for a short holiday near London.

In 1537, the site was let to Sir John Tregonwell by King Henry VIII in thanks for his help with the monastic dissolutions. Shortly afterwards however, Henry VIII realised the site was far too good to let to Sir John and he granted it in a letter written by the King himself, dated September 30th, 1539, to Richard Page and Dame Elizabeth.

The Sebright family’s ownership of the house and grounds arose when Sir Edward Sebright, 3rd Bt. (1668-1702)’s wife inherited it. The Sebright Family made huge improvements to the grounds and house over a period of nearly three centuries. The Sebright’s welcomed many guests wishing to take a break from the City and let them holiday in the English country they loved so much. Guests wishing to have the privacy of their own English country cottage near London, did their own self catering in one of the separate buildings to the Manor House.

Beechwood Park School

Beechwood Park School

In 1961 the site was purchased by Group Captain Peter Stewart OBE whose energy and enthusiasm led to renovations of the Manor House to provide a first class private school and sustainable use of the greater site for agriculture let to local farmers – ideal being so near London and the increasingly highly populated county of Hertfordshire.

The farm adjacent to Sebright Farm Cottage, part of Beechwood Park, produces the finest organic lamb and beef, together with some organic cereals.

NOW FULLY BOOKED UNTIL SUMMER 2016.

VARIOUS SMALLER COTTAGES AVAILABLE TO LET FOR 6 MONTHS + IN STUDHAM, BEDS (NEAREST J9 M1).

2-7 BEDROOMS FROM £1,285pm IN A RURAL LOCATION.

Make A Reservation

Sebright Farm Availability Checker

Arrival
Departure
Guests
Enquiry
Name
Email
Phone
How you found us?

Explore Sebright Cottage

Set in the Hertfordshire countryside, there's plenty to explore at Sebright Farm Cottage.

Sebright Holiday CottageSebright Cottage Barbeque Area
Sebright Cottage Gardens & WoodsSebright Cottage Surroundings